Reagan National - DCA Community Noise Working Group

The Airports Authority continues its outreach efforts in response to community concerns regarding Reagan National aircraft noise affecting residential areas in the District of Columbia, Maryland and Virginia.

A Reagan National Community Noise Working Group was established in October 2015 to engage broad-based community participation to identify practical aircraft noise solutions and recommendations to the FAA.

Working Group voting stakeholders include community members appointed by elected officials from local jurisdictions, and two airline representatives:

  • Airlines:     American Airlines, Metropolitan Washington Airlines Committee

  • D.C.:           Wards 2, 3, 6, 7, 8

  • Maryland:  Montgomery County:  Bethesda, Potomac
                       Prince George's County:  Accokeek, Fort Washington

  • Virginia:     City of Alexandria
                        Arlington County:  North/South
                        Fairfax County:  At-Large, Dranesville, Mount Vernon

The Airports Authority serves as the facilitator for Working Group meetings and recommendations.  The Airports Authority and FAA serve as non-voting, advisory Working Group members.  The Airports Authority will forward recommendations approved and endorsed by the Working Group to the FAA for consideration and action.

Topics considered by the Working Group include issues related to:

  • D.C. Metroplex - Standard Arrival and Standard Instrument Departure Procedures

  • North and South Flow Operating Conditions

  • Early-morning and Late-night Airline Schedules

  • DCA Nighttime Noise Rule History and Enforcement

  • Airline Fleet Mix

  • Noise Monitoring System

Working Group Members Maryland: 

Ken Hartman Primary Montgomery County 

Paul Janes Primary Montgomery County  

John Mitchell Primary Prince George’s County – Accokeek 

Edward Williams Primary Prince George’s County – Fort Washington  

Janelle Wright Alternate Montgomery County 

Reagan National Community Noise Working Group